BlogFest Recap: Day 2

Happy Fit Friday everyone! Hope your week has been good to you. It is time to share the escapades of my second day at Idea World Fitness BlogFest with Sweat Pink!!

I was by far even MORE excited for this day for one reason in particular…. JILLIAN. MICHAELS

But before that, we had an awesome bootcamp led by Caroline (The Trendy Trainer) and Moe Faherty (Fitness MoeJo). They’re East Coast girls just like me! Caroline and Moe were super motivating early in the morning and I loved how they incorporated partners into the bootcamp circuit. Afterwards, I re-fueled with a mini GoMacro bar that I got from the expo the day before, and Kiwi-strawberry Propel.

image-23

Bottom left: my workout partner and I. She’s from Turkey!

We had a bit of time between bootcamp and our next session, so naturally we went to go get an iced coffee from Starbucks (duh!)

The first presenter of Day 2 is Cassey Ho (aka Blogilates!! AH!) The session was about turning your blog into a business/brand. I couldn’t think of anyone more perfect to give a speech on that topic. Cassey has workout videos, meal plans, and a new line of workout clothing called BodyPop. She is one of the reasons I’ve been so inspired by this convention to ‘re-invent’ my blog, or at least the way I run it.

The next speaker was….drumroll…JILLIAN MICHAELS OH MY GOD I WAS LOSING MY MIND AND SCREAMING INSIDE LIKE A TEENAGE GIRL AT A ONE DIRECTION CONCERT SHE WAS IN THE ACTUAL ROOM WITH HER ACTUAL AWESOMENESS SPEAKING ACTUAL WORDS AND BREATHING THE SAME ACTUAL AIR THAT I WAS BREATHING.

I mean..Jillian Michaels. NBD.

image-24

Jillian Michaels – Badass b*tch 100% of the time.

She was simply amazing. I asked her a question about when to push your clients and when not to push them and she responded with a great answer.

The biggest takeaway for me and many others as well was the quote, Why not me?” I can think of at least 10 ways this can apply to many different areas of my life.

The following Tweet Break was from Merrithew Health & Fitness – we received a Fitness Circle Lite to go with the DVD we got in our ‘Welcome’ bags!

 

image-26

 

Following our tweet break, we had a presentation on the Business of Blogging from Ashley Long (an attorney), Jessica Mishra (an accountant – beamingwithhealthsf.com). These sessions were important to me as a blogger because should I decide to turn my blog into a business, I’ve got all the info necesary to keep me out of legal or financial trouble!

Following that session, Kayla and I headed back to the hotel to shower, and returned to the convention center for our next session – a panel entitled Bloggers Tell All. We got lots of great tips and insight into life as a professional blogger from Julie at PB Fingers, Monica at Run Eat Repeat, and Gina at The Fitnessista.

Then, another Tweet Break! I loved these breaks because not only did they get us up and moving a little bit, the brands that presented to us gave us great insight on their company. This Tweet Break was presented by Under Armour. We learned a little bit more about the UA Women’s campaign “I Will What I Want.”  (More on that in a later post!)

After lots of different workouts in the past 48 hours, it was great to have a relaxing yoga session led by Tara Stiles, founder of Strala NYC.

image-21

image-25

Yoga selfie – naturally

The lightning round of Blogfest was one of my favorite presentations. (let’s be real – they were all amazing!!). The bloggers who presented had a unique challenge – they had 20 slides, 15 seconds per slide, and the presentation auto-advances. They had to make sure they said what they wanted to say when they wanted to say it before the time was up. Tricky huh?! These women were amazing in what they had to say – so much so that I definitely need to write a separate post about that.

Following the lightning round, we had a BlogFest networking party, and afterwards, Kayla and I went out to dinner at a place called Fire & Ice with about 10 other bloggers.

image-31

 

image-36

Spices & sauces

image-37

Meat, poultry & fish

image-33

Can you see the circular griddle surface behind the food? I want one of those!

I’d never seen a place where you could basically build your dish to your liking – down to the spices and everything! It was an amazing feeling to connect with other like-minded individuals.

Photo Credit: Christiana at Spilling Coffee 'n' Dropping Things!

Photo Credit: Christiana at Spilling Coffee ‘n’ Dropping Things!

After that, we pretty much passed out back at the hotel room!

Questions for you:

  • What’s one quote that’s really inspiring you this week? 
6 responses to “BlogFest Recap: Day 2

  1. That is so awesome you and Kayla went to the Bllogfest!! Look forward to reading all your posts! Hope you are well 🙂

  2. The Jillian Michael’s talk was my favourite!! Blogfest was so amazing, I love that I get to keep reliving it through people’s recaps!

  3. loved loved loved Jillian! so amazing! great meeting you there 🙂

Leave a Reply

