My First Foodie Pen Pal Reveal!

Happy Monday folks! I’m finally feeling like summer is in full swing and I’m loving it. For some reason, however, time just seems to go so much faster these days! I’d like time to slow down just a littttle bit so that I can enjoy these beautiful carefree days. And now my Foodie Pen Pal Reveal!!

The Lean Green Bean

This month, I participated in my first Foodie Pen Pal exchange hosted by Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean. What a fun experience! I got to try some tasty favorites of a fellow foodie named Kristen P. from Minneapolis, MN. I’ve never been to the midwest, so it’s neat to have a taste of what foodie finds are out there!! Drumroll please….

image-1

 

image-6

Such fun goodies! From left to right:

  1. Ames Farm Purple Loosestrife Single Source Honey: I’ve never had single-source honey before, and I was anticipating it to just be like regular honey. The particular variety that Kristen sent me had a unique, spice-like finish to it, which made it especially perfect in my soothing caramel bedtime tea! Also, as per her suggestion, had it on a slice of toast with some ghee. Tea and toast – a perfect, light, afternoon snack!
  2. Uncooked Wheat Berries: I LOVE wheat berry!! I’ve only had it pre-cooked & frozen. She gave me some recipes to use wheatberries in – including wheat berry tabouli salad, lemony wheat berries with roasted brussel sprouts, and zesty wheat berry black bean chili. I haven’t gotten a chance to use them yet, but now that I am off of work for a week I will certainly be using them! image-4
  3. Trachealth drink mix: Kristen included two different flavors – coconut water + chia and blackberry hibiscus green tea + chia. I am a HUGE fan of chia seeds and coconut water, and green tea! I loved the coconut water flavor, and have yet to try the green tea. Perhaps that’ll be a nice accompaniment to tonight’s ballet class!
  4. image-11                                          Peach White Balsamic Vinegar: This may possibly be my favorite part of my foodie pen pal package, closely tied with the next item I’ll describe. This vinegar has a thicker consistency than normal vinegar, and it’s sweeter from the peach yet still tangy. I used it in iced tea, on salad, on grilled chicken, roasted brussel sprouts, and even in my zucchini pasta. The possibilities are endless with craft vinegars! I want more!!
  5. B.T. McElrath Chocolate – The Salty Dog: The word chocolate alone should be reason enough to explain why this item is tied with the last one for my favorite. The Salty Dog is dark chocolate with toffee pieces in it, and sea salt on the bottom side of the bar only.  B.T. McElrath is unique in the way it presents this particular flavor. On the back, it give you two ‘options’ to enjoy the sweet and salty flavors. You can eat it salty-side-down to feel the immediate bite of the salt, followed by the smoothness of the chocolate, or eat it salty-side-up and allow the salty notes to subtly ease their way into your eating experience. Pardon me while I get a paper towel – I believe I may have drooled on my keyboard a bit. :pimage-9
  6. Linden Hills “Spice It Up”: a zesty blend of herbs and spices, it includes flavors such as paprika, lemon peel, garlic, and onion. I’m not a fan of flavors that are overpowered by citrus, but the lemon peel is very light, yet still noticeable enough for me to enjoy it. I used this as a rub with some olive oil on grilled chicken, and also used it with the peach white balsamic vinaigrette on grilled chicken. I’ve still got some left – perhaps I will use it on my sirloin steak this evening!

A big thank you to Kristen P. for sending such wonderful treats in my foodie pen pal package!! And a BIG thank you to Lindsay for hosting foodie pen pals every month! 🙂


IMPORTANT Questions for you!!

What would you like to see more of on Run 2 Your Own Beat?

Feel free to email me at run2yourownbeat@gmail.com with suggestions, questions, and comments!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

