#RecipeFriday: Hearty chicken & veggie soup + Runner’s World 10K in Bethlehem

Happy Friday! I’m as excited as I am anxious for this weekend..more on that later in this post!

Last night Kayla and I went to a Little Pink Dress party that benefits the 5K we did last saturday. It was hosted at an upscale restaurant called the Melt on the Level 3 rooftop lounge. We felt super chic and dressed up a bit 😉

One of the benefits of having short hair is that I can rock this hot-a$$ hairstyle! ;)

One of the benefits of having short hair is that I can rock this hot-a$$ hairstyle! 😉

They had adorable pink ribbon cupcakes made by a bakery called Sugar Babe, and  they had complementary free pink hair highlights, mini-massages, and a photo booth, as well as raffles to enter.

By the way, you’d think that clothing stores would have more options for pink dresses, but there really weren’t a lot at all!!

Anyway, Recipe Friday time!! (Thanks Kierston for the link-up!)  I mentioned before, my throat has been hurting SO much from radiation that my diet had been reduced to soup and smoothies. Instead of buying soup in a can, I decided to take Kayla’s suggestion and make my own soup. It was so quick and easy and is a great weeknight dinner for busy moms or even just for comfort food! It’s also extremely versatile – so you can modify it however you please!

In my hearty chicken & vegetable soup, I put:

  • 2 chicken breasts, diced
  • Frozen mixed vegetables
  • A handful (or so) of brussel sprouts, cut into 1/4’s 
  • A big handful of fresh baby spinach
  • Organic low-sodium chicken broth
  • Vegetable pasta, crushed into very small pieces (about 1 serving)
  • Garlic & onion powder, dash of smoked paprika, 1 bay leaf, pepper

photo 1-1

1. Bring the chicken, broth, and spices to a boil on high heat, then lowered it to medium until chicken is no longer pink.

2. Add the veggies & noodles and let the soup simmer for about 10-15 minutes, or until the small amount of noodles were fully cooked.

Voila! Easy, hearty, comfort food in under 45 minutes. Enjoy!

 

This meal makes about 3-4 servings, dependent on whether or not you load it up with veggies like I did 😛

Tomorrow, I will be participating in my second race, and my first 10K ever – it is a part of the Runner’s World Half & Festival in Bethlehem, PA. This will also be the farthest I have run at one time. I have come close previously, ending at about 5 and a half miles. I know I’m capable of completing the race, but I’m still so nervous!!! 

I’m headed to the expo shortly to pick up my bib, bag, and other fun goodies.

Wish me luck – Have a fantastic weekend! 

Questions for you:

Are you registered for any races soon? 

What are some pre-race rituals you’ve developed?

3 responses to “#RecipeFriday: Hearty chicken & veggie soup + Runner’s World 10K in Bethlehem

  1. Jane Likes to Run

    Good luck and have fun. I have always wanted to do the runners world half marathon festival!

    • It was awesome! Had me feeling like I wanted to run more – only thing stopping me was the fact that I need better running shoes!

      Thanks for commenting – stay tuned for the recap of the race and expo! 🙂

  2. Definitely looks hearty!

    I hope you had a great race 🙂

    Thanks for linking up to #RECIPEFRIDAY!

Leave a Reply

