The consequences of being a newbie runner

Hello friendos! I hope you all had a marvelous weekend and were able to relax before diving head first into the hectic chaos that is Monday.

Having a legitimate ‘routine’ is a relatively new concept for me when it comes to school. I do find myself able to remain organized now, but when unexpected twists and turns are thrown my way, I begin to get stressed. One of these twists and turns includes a pain in my plantar fascia, a ligament on the plantar (bottom) side of the foot that connects the calcaneus (heel bone) to the sesamoid bone in the ball of the foot.

Early last week, I started feeling a pain in the plantar fascia on my left foot towards the end of a longer run, and I didn’t know why. The pain persisted through running the next day, then in bootcamp on Thursday (more on that later in this post), in spin class doing standing climbs/sprints, and and on Saturday while hiking with Kayla. & I don’t just feel it only when exercising anymore, I feel it when I’m walking too.

SO – let’s talk about bootcamp!! I love the bootcamp at the gym, and being able to have my workout done by 6:45 am. The instructor, Wayne, always has a different workout for us and he motivates us in such a way that makes us feel self-reliant – and also because for some odd reason, you just really don’t wanna disappoint him! Here’s the workout he had planned for us that day:

photo 1-1


5 burpees
10 push-ups
15 sit ups
20 air squats
run laps in racquetball court re-stacking risers & jumping over mats
ride 1 mile on spin bike at gear 12

For each time we completed the circuit, on our way back into the aerobic room to begin again, we would grab a dixie cup to keep count of how many we were each at. Wayne initially said to shoot for 6 times – after my 5th time, class was technically over at 6:30, however, I wanted to push myself to do it a 6th time. I know it wasn’t in the time constraints originally set, but I just would’ve felt guilty if I didn’t reach my goal.

6 dixie cups later...

6 dixie cups later…

Friday, Kayla and I took spin class with Wayne at 5:45 am. It was a bit of a struggle to get out of bed, but if I didn’t have her, I don’t think that I would’ve done it. I hope she knows how much I appreciate her 😉 I was feeling the pain in my foot a lot, but I tried to push through it. I then came home, showered, and took a 1-hour-turned-3-hour-nap.

Saturday was our active rest day, and I was really looking forward to it. I started the morning off getting some things done around the house, then went grocery shopping with her, followed by a hike at a relatievly close spot called Glen Onoko Falls. It was so pretty there, and I really underestimated how hard it would be! It definitely got my heart rate up..and unfortunately..my foot still kept hurting the whole time, even with an arch support in my shoe :/

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

Sunday, we normally take spin with our favorite instructor & do strength. For some reason, from when I went to bed the night before all through the morning, I was achey down to my bones. It’s not like me to fake an illness to get out of a workout, and my body was just not having it that day. I went home, and was freezing cold/exhausted so I curled up on the couch with a blanket for a bit & took some tylenol. I went to the doctor later in the afternoon to make sure I didn’t have a fever and also to get my foot c hecked out.

This is where I get the bad news.

Not only did I wait almost an hour to be seen by the doctor, (that suckekd), she ended up telling me I have a muscle strain in my plantar fascia, and that I need to stay off of it with heavy activity for a week. That means no running, no elliptical, and possibly no spin class. She prescribed for me a strong anti-inflammatory and a night splint, and suggested some stretches & massaging to do on my foot. She did, however, say that I’m able to swim! So it looks like I’ll be trying some new workouts this week..I guess it’ll be nice to have a change?? Luckily, my swimteam swimsuit from 6 years ago still fits me perfectly! Can you believe that?!

And here’s the consequence of being a newbie runner…

The doctor suggested that the pain most likely has to do with the fact that I did not break in my new shoes. I got really excited about my new Saucony running shoes – obviously I’m not very experienced because I had no idea you needed to slowly break them in. The first time I wore them, I ran 5 miles on the treadmill. Not the brighest of ideas. Lesson learned – for sure. Alternate back and forth between the new and old pair to adjust and properly break in the new ones.

photo

Saucony Grid Catalyst

The rest of the evening I spent grocery shopping some more, doing homework, and cooking. I cooked two DELICIOUS recipes from paleOMG for dinner this week. Seriously, her recipes are awesome and she’s hilarious. More on those either wednesday or friday :p

Hopefully I’ll have some great news coming up for you all soon regarding #SweatPink…. 😉 #SPAU

photo 2-1

That’s all for now loves! Have a great week 🙂

Questions for you:

Did you have a great weekend!?

Have you ever had any kind of sports injury before?

How’d you deal with it psychologically?

Leave a Reply

