WIAW – Meal planning with variety

Hello wonderful readers! I hope you all are having a fantastic week so far, and had an enjoyable Labor Day. I certainly did! I’m already super pooped and it’s only Wednesday. (hump DAAAAY!) ;p

I had an awesome 5 mile run on the treadmill yesterday morning, and was extremely proud of myself for reaching my goal.

I woke up after my first ‘pre-alarm’ alarm at 4:54 am. (the actual alarm was set for 5 am.) I had my oatmeal and 1/2 cup of pumpkin coffee, and got some reading done for school. I made my coffee in this new little single-serve coffee maker I got from Kohl’s!

pumpkin

I got to the gym at 6:30am, did Morganne’s (aka Nut Butter Runner) 300 abs and a few other random ab exercises. Phew! Killed me but it made me feel tight in my core. I’m definitely gonna try and incorporate that in my daily routine somehow!

Unknown

I started running arund 7:15  and said to myself “well elyse, you definitely have to do at least 3 miles – so we’ll shoot for 4. but i should really do 5 miles…so we’ll see how i’m feeling”. I literally battle with myself as I’m running as to whether or not I’m going to be able to reach my goal!

However, once I started running, I felt fine and had my music & my new Saucony running shoes (which were part of the reason I wanted to run so long), and just zoned out. I love the shoess – they’re so comfortable and sturdy!

image-8

So I’m having this awesome, productive day, right? I shower, and as I’m half dressed about to put my shirt on, IT’S NOT THERE. Yes, I left my shirt home when I had a nice outfit picked out. I threw on my LA fitness staff shirt and hurried to finish getting ready. Luckily, I had an extra shirt in my car (not a cute one -_-) but it did the job!

Thennn I went to class and did homework and all sorts of other boring things.

(Maybe it’s a liiittle early for fall, but I’m so ready for all these pumpkin spice recipes!!)

Now on to what I ate wednesday!! I feel like I’ve been taking a million pictures of my food lately cause I’ve decided to shy away from the Transformation Meal Plan and start adding more variety into my diet – cooking healthy, paleo recipes and other yummy things!

Lunches:

image-11

Spinach salad with homemade greek yogurt ‘ranch’ dressing, turkey, and peppers

image-4

Kale salad dressed with olive oil, lime, I& garlic with turkey and peppers

image-2

Fruit & veggie smorgasboard with 1 zucchini pancake and greek yogurt with blueberries & granola

image-1

Lunch for school: spinach salad with turkey, tomatoes, peppers, & herbed feta, ezekiel bread, carrots, peppers, & blueberries!

Dinners:

(I cooked the paleo rice and zucchini primavera in large portions – enough for 3 servings each so I would have yummy dinners for my busy week!)

image-6

Doesn’t look appetizing, but it’s delicious! Zucchini primavera with carrots, broccoli, chicken, & grated parm cheese

image-10

Labor day eats! apple chicken sausage, veggies with greek yogurt ‘ranch’ dip, chickpea salad, bean salad, & for dessert, chocolate zucchini bread cupcake and coffee!

image

Mexican paleo rice bowl! SO delicious. Topped with avocado, lentil soup w/ cumin, southwest shredded chicken, and southwest greek yogurt ranch dip.

Snacks/desserts:

image-3

In love with this coconut protein mug cake recipe from Nut Butter Runner!!

image-9

Peanut butter chocolate quest bar bites with homemade peanut butter & honey granola – amazing post workout snack with coffee!! Recipe coming friday 🙂

Welp, that’s about it for this week’s WIAW! I definitely plan on having lots more yummy, healthy, clean eats coming up. I’m a firm believer in the fact that a happy (and healthy) tummy is one of the key factors in being happy!!  Stay tuned for Recipe Friday! 🙂

Questions for you:

Are there any pumpkin-spice or fall related recipes you think I should try?

How are you doing with food prep/meal planning during a busy school year?

4 responses to “WIAW – Meal planning with variety

  1. Congrats at killin’ your workout! The first 2 miles are always the hardest but once you get in that groove it feels so good to meet your goal.

    I also LOVE Nut Butter Runner’s healthy dessert recipes. When you run a lot you need to fuel so healthy desserts are a must in my book.

    • So true! I love when I get to the ‘halfway point’ of a run – it just proves to myself that i’ve already come this far and i know i can keep going!

      Nut Butter Runner is just all around great :p haha I did 300 abs again today & love it!

  2. Congratulations on knocking out those 5 miles =)

Leave a Reply

