Vacation Recap!

Ahhhhhh. That’s all I have to say about my time at the beach.

Just Kidding – obviously I’m gonna recap it all to you guys 😉

So my lovely best friend Kayla and I headed down to Ocean City, MD for a 3-day 2-night trip at the beach. Being broke college students, we went earlier in the week to avoid the hiked-up prices of hotels on weekends.

On Wednesday, we got up before the crack of dawn to take a 5:45 AM spin class with an instructor whom we’ve heard many good things about. PHEW, he kicked our butts! We also wanted to get our workout in nice and early so we could leave early enough to enjoy some time at the beach.

On our way to the beach!

On our way to the beach!

It was only a four hour drive, so we got there around noon. Since checkin wasn’t until 3, and we already had our bikini’s on, we headed right down to the beach with our healthy lunches. (you know, since our hotel was ocean front and all.. ;))

I hadn’t been on a beach in TWO YEARS. Can you believe that? I completely forgot how much I love the beach. Due to some of the symptoms I had from cancer, I wasn’t able to enjoy my life for almost two years, and it created a lot of body-image issues. I am so happy to say that those issues are slowly fading away. Here is that first moment when I stepped barefoot into the sand…

IMG_2257

We spent most of the afternoon on Wednesday at the beach where we ate our healthy lunches. Once we checked in to the hotel room, we had our 3rd healthy meal (4 meals a day folks), studied for NASM, and took a nap. (we were so tired!) After our nap, we went out to Macky’s for dinner, which is right by the bay. It is SO pretty to eat right next to the water 🙂

Dinner by the bay

Dinner by the bay

After dinner, we walked the boardwalk until our little feet were hurting, so we turned in for the night.

Thursday morning, we woke up bright and early for an absolutely breath-taking (literally..hahaha) barefoot run on the beach. We went about 2 miles, and every 1/4 mile, we would stop and do 10 burpees, 10 push ups, and 10 jump squats. After that, we did some ab work/plank on our towels. The sand makes everything we did just a little bit harder, since we were working some extra muscles to stabilize ourselves.

Obviously, this provided for an excellent photo op!

After our run - relaxing in the waves & sand is the perfect cool-down!

After our run – relaxing in the waves & sand is the perfect cool-down!

After our run, we had our oatmeal and coffee from a place conveniently right by our hotel on the boardwalk. I loved sitting on our porch and looking out at the ocean while I ate breakfast 🙂

IMG_2140

Since it was pretty rainly on Thursday, (boo!) we went to the Tanger Outlets for some light shopping. There was also a farmer’s market there! Of course we get excited and buy a quart of DELICIOUS Delaware peaches. 😉

We returned to the hotel for another nap and some more NASM studying! After that, we went out to Fager’s island for dinner (more salads) and we treated ourselves to some Kohr’s Ice Cream on the boardwalk…hehehe 😉

We also did this ‘haunted house’ that Kayla used to go on when she came as a kid. It…was kinda funny. hahaha

IMG_2149

We wanted to get to bed nice and early for the part we were most looking forward to. Not only was Friday our rest day, but we also got up at 5:30 a.m. to watch the sunrise. Kayla does this every beach trip she goes on, but I’d never done it before since I was never much of a morning person until recently. It was the most beautiful, relaxing thing. We brought our coffee down to the beach and stuck our toes in the sand while we watched the sunrise.

It's times like this that make me appreciate being able to live this amazing life, and having a wonderful best friend!

It’s times like this that make me appreciate being able to live this amazing life, and having a wonderful best friend!

Afterward, we returned to our hotel for our oatmeal, grabbed our beach stuff, and headed right back out on the sand. Friday was most definitely a perfect beach day! (a.k.a. photo op again!)

IMG_2258

 

IMG_2259

I haven’t felt this confident about my body in a very long time. I owe it all to Kayla for motivating me and holding me accountable to stay committed.

Speaking of committed, let’s just talk about the whole food situation on vacation. I know there’s a ton of delicious restaurants in Ocean City full of foods you just “have to have while you’re there”. Fortunately, Kayla and I are both equally dedicated to our healthy eating. Here’s what I was prepping for meals before I left:

IMG_2080

Here’s my turkey with sweet potato and green beans.

Not pictured, I also prepped and packed lean beef with broccoli and freekeh (roasted green wheat), baby spinach, chicken, and avocado salad w/ 1 slice of Ezekiel bread, and for breakfast, pre-portioned rolled oats, brown sugar, and chia seeds. We used the hot water from the coffee maker in the hotel room for our oats, brought our own tupperware, and used the bathroom sink to wash our dishes. We also packed lots of fruits & veggies along with Laughing Cow wedges & hummus. We had massive cooler bags with mannny ice packs. This, my friends, is dedication! haha

I’ve learned to find enjoyment in being active and living life. Don’t worry – I did treat myself a little bit 😉 Here is a montage of the foods I ate while on vacation:

IMG_2260

Top left: Summer Apple Chicken Salad from Hooper’s

Top right: Boater’s Choice salad with chicken

Bottom: Kohr’s Frozen Custard (Vanilla & Peanut Butter) MMMMM.

Let’s talk about the ice cream. Kayla and I have decided to have one cheat per week. I don’t think it’s necessary to go quite as hard as I did with that cheeseburger I mentioned in my last post. This ice cream didn’t throw me off as much as I thought it would. It reduces my cravings a littttle bit and makes me savor these things much much more. It also helps me to be able to stick to my healthy eating the rest of the time so I can feel like I earned my cheat treats!

Questions for you:

  • Are you taking any vacations this summer?
  • How do you rationalize cheating/not cheating while on vacation?
Leave a Reply

