Lazy Sunday :)

Happy Sunday!! I’m having a lazy rest day today. I was supposed to workout, but my workout buddy isn’t feeling well and I’m still feeling sore from that insanity workout yesterday! I never realized how bad I am at push-ups…like really bad! So here’s me not wanting to get out of bed this morning haha

IMG_1126No need to tell me how pretty I am, I already know….lol jk!ย 

So, I woke up, had some cereal, and got dressed for the day! I sorted through a crate of books from when I was at my first year of school in NY and found a few random things that reminded me of my time there. I miss it so much!

I decided to try eating cottage cheese since it’s high in protein, and would give me more options for snacks.

IMG_1131I mixed in some cinnam0n, a dash of vanilla, and some honey topped off with some strawberries. I really enjoyed it! It somewhat reminded me of rice pudding.

Backtracking to earlier last week, I had chemo on Tuesday. I thought it’d be informational if I told you all what exactly happens when I go in for treatment!

I have what’s called a port in my chest. It was surgically sutured onto my muscle while I was under anesthesia. I can have the port in my body for as long as is needed for treatment. When I go in for treatment, I bring two pillows, a sheet, and my computer. They take my weight, blood pressure, and temperature. The type of needle that they use to administer my chemo is called aย hook needle. It’s a small plastic piece that has a short needle with a slight bend to it. This is what the needle looks like accessing the port.

IMG_1081The needle is hooked up to tubing that then connects to the IV fluids. Here’s my nurse covering my port. Whenever it is accessed, it has to be treated like an open wound to prevent infection.

IMG_1082

She flushes the port with saline which gives me an unpleasant odor in my nose, since the catheter attached to the port goes in an upside-down U shape near my windpipe, flowing into my superior vena cava (one of the major arteries). She takes my blood sample and sends it to the lab so that they can do a complete blood cell count. (CBC). This checks the levels of all sorts of different things that I don’t exactly know..but the reason they do it is to make sure I’m in decent enough health to handle the chemo drugs. After waiting for my labs to come back, the nurse sets up my pre-med (a steroid and an anti-nausea). All of the meds except for one are an IV drip. The adriamycin is a reddish color and is called aย push. It is administered manually over a period of about ten minutes from a syringe that screws into the tubing hooked up to the needle. After that, I just hang out and wait for chemo to be over. Overall, it takes about 3 1/2 hours.

IMG_1083

From then, I’m tired and have no appetite for about 3 or 4 days. And I sleep like Rip Van Winkle, seriously! But that’s all about chemo for now. Talking too much about it when I don’t have to be there sometimes makes me physically uneasy. On the bright side, TWO MORE TREATMENTS!!!

Let’s talk about fooood ๐Ÿ™‚

Sometimes chicken soup feels wonderful when I’m not feeling well from treatment. Due to the convenience, I had some Healthy Choice Chicken & Dumpling soup to soothe my tummy.

IMG_1090

This got me thinking. I love chicken and dumpling soup! I wanted to find a healthy recipe to make it. Don’t worry folks, that’ll be coming later this week ๐Ÿ™‚

By Friday I was feeling okay enough to cook some dinner and eat it. I marinaded chicken in teryaki sauce and made sauteed vegetables.

IMG_1140It was delicious! The chicken looks really saucy, but it’s not – it’s just more brown from the grill ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday was a day of helping others in need. I went to a fundraiser calledย Lyme Aid.ย This event was hosted by an organization called Power Chords that combines music and youths. The coordinator is actually the sister of Blondes Have More Run. There were local bands playing all day, as well as vendors and food donated by a local restaurant. There was also a raffle in which I won a prize! The event was to benefit a girl named Demi who’s been battlling Lyme disease for about 4 years, and just lost her health insurance in January. She’s a very sweet girl, and so positive! Her and I were able to connect through difficulties we’ve had with our health. Here’s a picture of Kayla and I at the benefit ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1106

It was actually the first time I didn’t wear my wig out in public, besides the gym! ๐Ÿ™‚

Later that night, I had a delicious dinner of grilled panko chicken and spaghetti squash with a homemade tomato sauce, and a glass of my favorite kind of white wine, vino verde. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1120

That’s about all I have for now, but this week I hope to be posting some more workouts, as I am ready to increase my strength training some more ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, I bought a groupon for 10 CrossFit classes for $45!! I’M SO EXCITED!!

4 responses to “Lazy Sunday :)

  1. I love you, Elyse!

  2. I really enjoyed meeting you yesterday, hearing your story was just so inspiring. You’re such a strong, beautiful young woman! While our sicknesses differ we can relate about many things. I really hope that we can continue talking, I’d like to continue having you’re happy positive energy in my life. Thank you so much for coming yesterday, it meant so much and I’m glad you won a raffles , I wish I would have gotten a picture with you!

    • Aww, thank you! I enjoyed meeting you too! I’m glad I was able to make you smile in some way ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel free to message me on facebook anytime! And thank you for checking out my blog!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

