Happy WIAW! Making progress :)

Hello everyone! Hope you’re all having a fabulous week so far. It’s been so hot here the past few days, I kinda love it! I didn’t cook much last week because I wasn’t feeling well from chemo and I had a bit of a busy weekend! But now I have a few days off to relax, exercise, and cook all the clean, delicious food my little heart desires ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are a few of the things I’ve concocted:

Mexican chicken lettuce wraps

I threw this one together to satisfy my craving for Mexican food. It was even a hit with my 10 year old brother!! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a variation of the Any Flavor chicken lettuce wraps. Instead of using a sauce and the chicken broth, I used cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, and paprika. I haven’t gotten the amounts down to a perfect balance quite yet, but I definitely got the flavor I was looking for! ๐Ÿ™‚ I boiled the chicken, spices, and chicken broth until the chicken was cooked and tender. Then I let it simmer, pulled it a part, and let it simmer some more. I cooked the frozen whole kernel corn and the plain black beans in with the chicken which gave it an almost creamy consistency. I used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream, then put my meat mixture on, and the TINIEST sprinkle of marble jack cheese. Yum!!

IMG_0966As I mentioned before, I’ve been really into grilling my chicken! This is my version of a healthy breaded chicken. I coated the raw chicken in a mixture of egg whites, 3 cheese flavored egg beaters, and a little olive oil. ย Then I covered it in panko bread crumbs and Mrs. Dash’s garlic & herb seasioning. It gets so crispy on the outside and the egg really seals in the moisture and comes out so juicy and tender! I then used this chicken for a DELICIOUS caesar salad ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_0967I’m actually on the hunt for something as well. I’m looking for a healthy, homemade caesar vinaigrette recipe!! Anybody know of any? For my salad, I used Cardini’s Light Caesar Vinaigrette. Not too heavy on the calories or fat and so flavorful!! Topped it off with crushed croutons (that way I use less croutons if I spread them out more) and shredded italian cheese!

IMG_0968Sometimes it’s hard to make healthy eating choices when you’re on the go and didn’t have time to pack a meal! (or all of your ice packs have gone missing, and you can’t pack perishable foods….oops) I picked these foods up from wawa. Not entirely what I would’ve preferred, especially with the granola square, but it was definitely a great protein fix after the gym while I waited for my car to be fixed!

And Lastly….Dessert!

IMG_0965Who doesn’t love chocolate covered strawberries? By the way, best one I’ve ever had was probably from Carlo’s Bake Shop in Hoboken, NJ. However, we can’t always indulge! Here I’ve used one of my brownie balls crumbled over some fresh sliced strawberries. Definitely satisfied a nasty craving for dessert. Might have a cookie dough ball recipe coming up soon ๐Ÿ˜‰

Update: I’ve lost 10 lbs! and I can run .75 miles without stopping! I am so proud of myself!

More soon, Have a great week guys!

Leave a Reply

